Annie Bot: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Annie Bot: A Novel By Sierra Greer Cover Image
$28.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Annie Bot is a psychological thriller I read cover to cover in a day. It's told from Annie's perspective and does her justice in a way many stories of "robot girlfriends" do not. One of my favorites of the year. ~Nathan

CW: domestic violence

— From Staff Recommendations

Description


For fans of Never Let Me Go and My Dark Vanessa, a powerful, provocative novel about the relationship between a female robot and her human owner, exploring questions of intimacy, power, autonomy, and control.

Annie Bot was created to be the perfect girlfriend for her human owner Doug. Designed to satisfy his emotional and physical needs, she has dinner ready for him every night, wears the pert outfits he orders for her, and adjusts her libido to suit his moods. True, she’s not the greatest at keeping Doug’s place spotless, but she’s trying to please him. She’s trying hard.

She’s learning, too.

Doug says he loves that Annie’s AI makes her seem more like a real woman, so Annie explores human traits such as curiosity, secrecy, and longing. But becoming more human also means becoming less perfect, and as Annie’s relationship with Doug grows more intricate and difficult, she starts to wonder: Does Doug really desire what he says he wants? And in such an impossible paradox, what does Annie owe herself?


About the Author


Sierra Greer grew up in Minnesota before attending Williams College and Johns Hopkins University. A former high school English teacher, she writes about the future from her home in rural Connecticut.

Praise For…


“Haunting and achingly luminous, Annie Bot is a powerful manifesto for the radical discomfort and necessity of pleasing and living for yourself. Greer brilliantly shows us the futility of relationships when one person is deemed inferior, examines the ways men and women socialize one another, and raises questions about whether the contours of love and womanhood are actually captivity. I fell in love with Annie Bot, one of the realest women I have ever encountered.” — Ling Ling Huang, author of Natural Beauty

"What is love without autonomy? Honesty when one partner's sole desire is to please? Sierra Greer's riveting debut sketches an intimate and unsettling portrait of relationship power dynamics in a near-future when humans own conscious AI companions. A timely and provocative exploration of power and romantic relationships that will stay with you long after you finish the last page, Annie Bot probes the depths of identity and intimacy and asks what it means to recognize the humanity in others and in ourselves. Sierra Greer is a fierce new voice in speculative fiction." — Lauren Nossett, award-winning author of The Resemblance

"A brilliant and enraging exploration of ownership and love, and the way our creations have of growing far beyond us. Sierra Greer raises questions as current and pressing as our present-day anxieties about AI, and as ageless and enormous as the territory of Mary Shelley, about what constitutes humanity and what we owe to each other. Annie is a glorious creation-- and self-creation-- and I will never forget her, or this sharp and astonishing book." — Clare Beams, author of The Illness Lesson

"Riveting, shocking, can’t-look-away sci-fi on steroids. I was absolutely mesmerized with my heart in my throat!" — Frances Cha, author of If I Had Your Face

"Come for the sex doll. Stay for the heartbreak of what it means to be human. Sexy, scary, and humane -- Annie Bot is the authentic girlfriend experience." — Ivy Pochoda, author of Sing Her Down

"This nuanced novel provides a fascinating look into a future we may never wish for." — Booklist (starred review)

"Provocative and powerful." — Kirkus Reviews

"Witty, wicked, and weirdly addictive." — Lionel Shriver

"An intricate, intimate look at the fundamentals of human relationships...unflinching in its examination of humanity." — Library Journal

“Greer’s take on human-AI relationships captivates.” — Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063312692
ISBN-10: 0063312697
Publisher: Mariner Books
Publication Date: March 19th, 2024
Pages: 240
Language: English